Skip to content

Learning Tarot Card Meanings

Welcome to my tarot card meanings page. Tarot cards have been used for centuries to gain insight and clarity into one’s life. Each card holds a unique meaning and symbolises an aspect of the human experience. As a tarot reader, I have gained a deep understanding of the cards and their significance. In this guide, I will take you on a journey through the Major and Minor Arcana, providing detailed descriptions of each card and its meanings. Whether you are a beginner or an experienced tarot reader, this guide will provide you with valuable insights and knowledge.

King of cups - tarot card meanings

The Major Arcana

The Major Arcana consists of 22 cards and represents the archetypal journey of the Fool, from innocence to enlightenment. This journey is divided into three parts, the conscious realm, the unconscious realm, and the superconscious realm.

The fool - tarot card meanings

The Conscious Realm:

The lovers - tarot card meanings

The Magician, High Priestess, Empress, Emperor, Hierophant, Lovers and Chariot represent the conscious realm of the Fool’s journey. These cards represent the external world and the conscious decisions that we make. The Magician symbolises manifestation and the power of the will, while the High Priestess represents intuition and the inner voice. The Empress and Emperor represent the feminine and masculine energies respectively, while the Hierophant symbolises tradition and conformity. The Lovers represent choice and the Chariot represents willpower.

The Unconscious Realm:

The hermit - tarot card meanings

Strength, The Hermit, The Wheel of Fortune, Justice, The Hanged Man, Death, and Temperance represent the unconscious realm of the Fool’s journey. These cards represent the internal world and the unconscious aspects of ourselves. Strength represents courage and inner strength, while The Hermit represents introspection and isolation. The Wheel of Fortune represents fate and destiny, while Justice represents balance and fairness. The Hanged Man represents sacrifice and surrender, while Death represents transformation and rebirth. Temperance represents balance and moderation.

The Superconscious Realm:

The world  - tarot card meanings

The Devil, The Tower, The Star, The Moon, The Sun, Judgement and the world represent the superconscious realm of the Fool’s journey. These cards represent the spiritual world and the higher consciousness. The Devil represents materialism and bondage, while The Tower represents upheaval and change. The Star represents hope and inspiration, while The Moon represents intuition and illusion. The Sun represents vitality and enlightenment, while Judgement represents renewal and resurrection. The world represents completion and fulfilment.

The Minor Arcana

When it comes to tarot cards, the Minor Arcana is often misunderstood and overlooked. However, these cards are just as important as the Major Arcana in providing insight into our lives. The Minor Arcana is divided into four suits: Pentacles, Cups, Wands, and Swords. Each of these suits represents a different aspect of our lives and the challenges we face.

The Suit of Pentacles

Suit of pentacles  - tarot card meanings

The Pentacles suit represents the element of earth and is associated with material wealth and success. When you draw a Pentacles card, it may signify financial gain, career growth, or physical health. This suit reminds us that the things we can see and touch are just as important as the intangible aspects of life.

The Suit of Cups

Suit of cups - tarot card meanings

The Cups suit represents the element of water and is associated with emotions, relationships, and creativity. When you draw a Cups card, it may signify new love, deep emotional connections, or artistic inspiration. This suit reminds us to pay attention to our feelings and the people around us.

The Suit of Wands

Suit of wands - tarot card meanings

The Wands suit represents the element of fire and is associated with passion, ambition, and action. When you draw a Wands card, it may signify new opportunities, creative ideas, or the need to take action. This suit reminds us to stay motivated and pursue our goals with passion.

The Suit of Swords

The suit of swords - tarot card meanings

The Swords suit represents the element of air and is associated with thoughts, intellect, and communication. When you draw a Swords card, it may signify mental challenges, conflict, or the need to make a decision. This suit reminds us to use our minds and communication skills to navigate difficult situations.

Understanding Numerology in Tarot

In addition to the suits, numerology plays a significant role in tarot card readings. Each card has a specific number that carries its own meaning and significance.

In general, the number 1 signifies new beginnings and individuality, while the number 2 represents partnerships and balance. The number 3 is associated with creativity and self-expression, and the number 4 represents stability and structure. The number 5 is linked to change and unpredictability, while the number 6 is associated with harmony and balance. The number 7 signifies spiritual growth and self-discovery, and the number 8 represents power and authority. The number 9 represents completion and fulfilment, while the number 10 embodies a sense of achievement and success.

When interpreting a tarot card, it’s important to consider both the suit and the number to gain a deeper understanding of its meaning.

Understanding Court Cards in Tarot

The court cards in tarot represent different personality types and can provide insight into the people around us or aspects of ourselves. These cards include the Page, Knight, Queen, and King, and are not associated with a specific suit.

The Pages are associated with new beginnings and learning and can represent a younger or inexperienced person. The Knights are associated with action and adventure and can represent someone with a fiery, ambitious personality. The Queens are associated with intuition and nurturing, and can represent someone with a caring, empathetic personality. The Kings are associated with leadership and authority and can represent someone with a strong, decisive personality.

When interpreting a court card, consider the personality traits associated with that card, and how they may apply to the situation or person you are reading for. It’s important to note that court cards can also represent aspects of ourselves that we need to tap into or develop. For example, drawing the Queen of Cups could indicate a need to be more in tune with our emotions and nurture ourselves.

When reading court cards, it’s also important to consider the surrounding cards and the context of the reading. For example, a Knight of Wands may indicate a need for action and adventure, but if surrounded by cards representing stability and structure, it may suggest the need to balance our desire for excitement with practical considerations.

Incorporating court cards into your readings can add depth and nuance, providing insight into the people and situations in your life.

Skip to content